Adults

Sue’s Super Cool Read-Alikes for June

Have you ever caught yourself wishing that your favorite authors could be knocking out more titles quicker? We know Nora Roberts, James Patterson and Lee Child seem to drop books every few days but what about some of our other favorites.

Sue is helping us out with her grouping of Read-Alikes, authors who are similar, to some of the writers we love. Here is here first batch and please let us know if you have some other ideas as well.

If you liked last year’s Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owen, try one of these available at this library:

Swamplandia by Karen Russell
The Round House by Louise Erdrich
The Marsh King’s Daughter by Karen Dionne
Magic Hour by Kristin Hannah
The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
The Good Dream by Donna VanLiere
Once Upon a River by Bonnie Jo Campbell
Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka
The Stranger in the Woods by Michael Finkel
Nightwoods by Charles Frazier

If you like Danielle Steel, try:

     Barbara Taylor Bradford                  Luanne Rice
     Elizabeth Adler                                Rosamunde Pilcher
     Janet Dailey                                     Susan Howatch
     Maeve Binchy

If you read Emily Giffin’s All We Ever Wanted, now try:

     Liane Moriarty                                  Stephanie Evanovich
     Diane Chamberlaiin                          Ann Packer
     Mary Kay Andrews                            Sophie Kinsella

If Karen Robards’ books of mystery and suspense interest you, sample these:

     Lisa Jackson                                       Sandra Brown
     John Connelly                                     Jayne Ann Krentz
     Stuart Woods                                       Iris Johanson
     Catherine Coulter

Are B.A. Paris’ bestsellers keep you reading, try:

     S.J. Watson                                          Cathy Kelly
      Nicci French                                         Emily St. John Mandel
     A.J. Finn                                                Linwood Barclay
     Mary Kubica

Did you like Karin Slaughter’s Fractured and The Last Widow? Our library has
     these authors you might enjoy:

     Robert Galbraith                                     Sue Grafton
     Lisa Gardner                                           Harlan Coben
     Kathy Reichs                                          Jonathan Kellerman
      Jeffrey Deaver

If you like Scott Turow’s legal thrillers, sample some of these authors:

     Steve Martini                                              Joseph Finder
     John Grisham                                             Jay Brandon
     David Baldacci                                            Richard North Patterson
     Paul Theroux

If you are in the mood for nonfiction nonfiction similar to Bill Bryson, try:

     Jared Diamond                                               Steven Levitt
     Richard Dawkins                                             Jon Krakauer
     Stephen Ambrose                                            Elizabeth Gilbert

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s